First I would like to say that it is officially 32 minutes into Sunday the 11th and by the end of this day I will have clocked in over 26 miles of running this week, which is huge for me. I started week 11 of my 14-week 10K training program yesterday and though it was tough, it wasn’t nearly as tough as I thought it would be six weeks ago. The intervals of running before a minute-long walk break are getting longer, so long that the minute of walking kind of doesn’t make sense except that it helps mentally break the long run into a seemingly more doable “mountain.” In three weeks it’s expecting me to run the full 10K without stopping, or 60 straight minutes, assuming I’ll be running at ~10 minute pace, which I won’t quite be at, but I think it’ll certainly have me ready for my first 10K, which is September 14 with Ringing In Hope and its For the Sake of Children 10K.

So yay, training.

I am completely addicted to running. The thing I look forward to most every day is my run. Even if I’m huffing and puffing during the run itself, trying not to check my miles to see when I can finally stop and shower and analyze my pace and feel awesome that I’m done, I’m still ready to run again the next day.

ImageI talked to an old acquaintance for the first time in a while, very briefly, the other day. He said he hoped things were well with me. I thought about it for a moment. My job search has been stressful, I’m living with my parents, I’m not seeing my friends as much as I used to, I don’t have as many friends as I used to period… but I could honestly say… yeah. Things are well. Things are GREAT. I have goals and I’m accomplishing them. Maybe not all my goals, but every day I can point to at least something in my life and say “I’m doing that and I never thought it was possible.”

Running has changed my life.

Image

I was hanging out with my friend Jescie today, who’s run a few half-marathons and other various distances, and we were rattling off races we’d heard of or she’d done and loved and which ones we’d heard were particularly fun races with good swag.

So off the top of my head, a brief smattering of races I’d like to run one day, so I can begin to later hash them out as far as time of year and what makes the most sense when. Luckily, I’m young and there are two things that make me want to live a long life: there will always be another book I haven’t read yet and there will always be another race I haven’t tried (and another medal I haven’t snagged). And through races, an excuse to visit another city I haven’t seen, or revisit to see more parts I haven’t seen of a city I’ve previously been to.

RACE BUCKET LIST (so far…)

January

  1. runDisney Walt Disney World Marathon/Goofy/Dopey Challenge (Orlando, FL)
  2. runDisney Star Wars Half/Rebel Challenge (Anaheim, CA)
  3. Charleston Marathon/Half (Charleston, SC) Check!
  4. Key West Half Marathon (Key West, FL)
  5. Rock ‘n’ Roll Phoenix (Phoenix, AZ)
  6. Mississippi Blues Half Marathon (Jackson, MS)
  7. Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans (New Orleans, LA)
  8. ZOOMA Run Florida (Amelia Island, FL)

February

  1. Disney Princess Half Marathon (Orlando, FL) Check!
  2. Glass Slipper Challenge (Orlando, FL) Check!
  3. Virginia is for Lovers 14k (Virginia Beach, VA) Check!
  4. Myrtle Beach Marathon/Half (Myrtle Beach, SC)
  5. Rock ‘n’ Roll St. Petersburg (St. Petersburg, FL)
  6. Austin Marathon (Austin, TX)
  7. Gasparilla Distance Classic (Tampa Bay, FL)
  8. GDC Michelob Ultra Challenge (5K, 8K, 15K, Half) (Tampa Bay, FL)
  9. Mercedes-Benz Marathon (Birmingham, AL)

March

  1. Yuengling Shamrock Marathon/Half/8k (Virginia Beach, VA)
  2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Dallas (Dallas, TX)
  3. Publix Georgia Marathon (Atlanta, GA)
  4. Rock ‘n’ Roll USA Half Marathon (Washington, DC) Check!
  5. NYC Half Marathon (New York, NY)
  6. NYRR Spring Meltdown 15K (New York, NY)
  7. Rock ‘n’ Roll San Francisco (San Francisco, CA)

April

  1. Country Music Marathon/Half – Rock ‘n’ Roll (Nashville, TN)
  2. Cherry Blossom 10 Miler (Washington, DC) Check!
  3. Boston Marathon (Boston, MA)
  4. Rock ‘n’ Roll San Francisco (San Francisco, CA)
  5. Albuquerque Half Marathon (Albuquerque, NM)
  6. George Washington Parkway Classic 10 Miler (Alexandria, VA)
  7. Marine Corps 17.75K (Quantico, VA)
  8. ZOOMA Run Austin (Austin, TX)

May

  1. Flying Pig Marathon/Half – (Cincinnati, OH)
  2. Flying Pirate Half Marathon (Outer Banks, NC)
  3. Rock ‘n’ Roll San Diego (San Diego, CA)
  4. Rock ‘n’ Roll Portland (Portland, OR)
  5. Pittsburgh Marathon (Pittsburgh, PA)
  6. Marine Corps Historic Half Marathon (Fredericksburg, VA)
  7. KeyBank Vermont City Marathon (Burlington, VT)
  8. NYRR Brooklyn Half (Brooklyn, NY) Check!
  9. Prince of Wales Marathon (Prince of Wales, AK)
  10. ZOOMA Run Annapolis

June

  1. Stratton Faxon Fairfield Road Races Half Marathon (Fairfield, CT)
  2. Franklin Half Marathon (Franklin, TN)
  3. See Jane Run Boise (Boise, ID)
  4. Baltimore 10 Miler (Baltimore, MD)
  5. Baltimore Women’s Classic 5K (Baltimore, MD)
  6. 13.1 Chicago (Chicago, IL)
  7. NYRR Queens 10K (Queens, NY) Check!
  8. Asheville Half Marathon (Asheville, NC)

July

  1. See Jane Run Seattle (Seattle, WA)
  2. San Francisco Marathon (San Francisco, CA)
  3. Rock ‘n’ Roll Chicago Marathon (Chicago, IL)
  4. Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon (Napa Valley, CA)

August

  1. Crim 10 Miler (Flint, MI)
  2. Battle of Brooklyn 10 Miler Prospect Park (Brooklyn, NY)
  3. Disneyland Half Marathon/Dumbo Challenge (Anaheim, CA)
  4. Charles Street 12 Miler (Baltimore, MD)

September

  1. Rock ‘n’ Roll Virginia Beach (Virginia Beach, VA)
  2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Philadelphia (Philadelphia, PA)
  3. Navy-Air Force Half Marathon/5 Miler (Washington, DC)
  4. See Jane Run Wichita Half Marathon (Wichita, KS)
  5. Women’s Running Series – Nashville Half Marathon (Nashville, TN)
  6. NYRR Bronx 10-Miler (Bronx, NY)

October

  1. Tower of Terror Ten Miler (Orlando, FL)
  2. Baltimore Running Festival (Baltimore, MD)
  3. Army Ten Miler (Washington, DC) Check!
  4. Marine Corps Marathon (Washington, DC) Check!
  5. Atlanta Marathon (Atlanta, GA)
  6. Chicago Marathon (Chicago, IL)
  7. Rock ‘n’ Roll Cleveland (Cleveland, OH)
  8. Portland Marathon (Portland, OR)
  9. Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon (Milwaukee, WI)
  10. Steamtown Marathon (Scranton, PA)
  11. NYRR Staten Island Half Marathon (Staten Island, NY)
  12. Folsom Blues Half Marathon (Folsom, CA)
  13. Humboldt Redwoods Marathon (Weott, CA)
  14. Cape Cod Marathon (Falmouth, MA)
  15. Empire State Marathon (Syracuse, NY)
  16. Columbia Gorge Marathon (Hood River, OR)

November

  1. Rock ‘n’ Roll Vegas (Las Vegas, NV)
  2. Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio (San Antonio, TX)
  3. New York Marathon (New York, NY)
  4. Outer Banks Marathon/Half (Outer Banks, NC)
  5. 13.1 Fort Lauderdale (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
  6. Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon (Orlando, FL)
  7. Avengers Half Weekend (Anaheim, CA)
  8. Annapolis Running Classic Half Marathon (Annapolis, MD)
  9. Women’s Running Scottsdale Half Marathon (Scottsdale, AZ)
  10. Women’s Running St. Petersburg Half Marathon (St. Pete’s, FL)

December

  1. Surf-n-Santa 10 Miler (Virginia Beach, VA)
  2. California International Marathon (Sacramento, CA)
  3. Honolulu Marathon (Honolulu, HI)
  4. Dallas Marathon (Dallas, TX)
  5. St. Jude Marathon (Memphis, TN)
  6. Space Coast Marathon (Cocoa Beach, FL)
  7. NYRR Ted Corbitt Classic 15K (New York, NY)

Yes, one day I’d like to be a Boston qualifier. And yes, subsequently, I’ve decided to indeed run a marathon (or several) one day. I’d been hesitant – scared, I suppose, of the horror stories you hear about the toll a marathon takes on your body. But considering how slow I run, yes, a marathon will definitely be hard, but I’m not in it to be an Olympic qualifier. I’ll start slow. And maybe in like 10 years, I could maybe go to Boston.

Considering how many races happen in the same months, and how young I am, I’m in no rush. But one day. One day maybe I’ll run Boston.

Because why not? There are a million more races I’ve heard of and I’ve seen women into their fifties running marathons. I’ve got plenty of time to work on it. And if you’re gonna dream…

Image

