My least favorite month of the year is finally over! Remember my goals for February? Good news! Not everything hurts and I’m not dying! Victory! We made it!

But the month wasn’t perfect. Which is totally okay. But I’m a little behind on my Run This Year goal to average 116.67 miles a month – January I got close with 110.2 miles, but February was 91.01 miles. So on the first day of March, I’ve banked 201.21 miles for 2014 so far. My RTY goal is 1400 miles for the year, with my B goal being 2014km, or 1251.44 miles. So I’m even a little behind on my B goal.

A lot of that was due to the Glass Slipper Challenge – I had to taper and recover, and February was a short month, as well. This past week I did two four mile runs to recover from GSC. I also went to yoga once. I was feeling a little soreness in my right hip socket and wanted to actually let my body recover.

The month revolved around this double race challenge.
The month revolved around this double race challenge.

My other goals for February were to go to Body Pump twice a week and yoga once a week. Um, that fell short too. To hit Body Pump twice a week, one of those two times per week I have to go straight from work to the gym, and I know I was just plain tired from work several times. So I went a total of twice the whole month. I did go to yoga 3 times though, so I’ll count that a victory. Going to yoga regularly is definitely new – I was more in the habit of Body Pump, and getting into the habit of doing two types of cross-training for strength has been tough.

One more thing I’ve been working on this year is my own Plank a Day plan challenge. In January I set out to plank 45 seconds a day, and I did. In February I upped it to a minute per day. I missed a couple days so made up for it with several planks on subsequent days. I didn’t quite catch up with the planks I missed while I was distracted in Disneyworld, so I planked a total of 26 minutes in February, where my goal was 28. Not bad.

Put so many miles on my last pair of shoes since I bought them in November, I got new ones on Thursday! Asics Flux - not sure if I like them yet.
Put so many miles on my last pair of shoes since I bought them in November, I got new ones on Thursday! Asics Flux – not sure if I like them yet.

Because February was so race-heavy and revolved so heavily around Glass Slipper, instead of kicking myself about missing my goals by a few numbers, I’m celebrating how much I DID do. You know that saying “shoot for the moon – even if you miss you’ll land among the stars”? I’ve set high goals for myself which means that “missing them by a little” still means I did a LOT. 91 miles in the short month of February, one where all I normally want to do is hibernate? Kick ass!

But it’s a new month, and I’m not giving up on those goals. In fact, I have all these goals plus a couple exciting races in store. More on my goals for March tomorrow!

Meanwhile, how are your goals doing? Did February kick your New Year’s Resolutions’ asses, or did you power through? Are you running this year? What’s your mileage so far? Brag away!

