So I’m a little behind in my blogging, and have some catching up to do! Exciting news in the Writing Reading Running world.

First, I was nominated by not one but two bloggers, Chaitali and Laura, for a Liebster Award. Thank you lovely ladies!

liebster-award

The Liebster Award is an online award by bloggers for bloggers.  It helps to generate attention for new and up and coming bloggers, typically those with 200 followers or less.

Here’s how it works:
1.  You must link back to the person (or in my case, people) who nominated you.
2.  You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.

I am also supposed to pick 10 bloggers to nominate, but I am LATE to this party and everyone I just went to to try and nominate has already done Liebster Award posts. Oops.

So since I’m a little late to this party I’m gonna TRY to find 10 blogs that haven’t already posted/been nominated for a Liebster. In the meantime, here’s everything you ever and never wanted to know about MOI. I have 20 questions, so to Chaitali and Laura, not to overload readers, I did my best to mix and match. Some of your questions were similar so I was able to answer both.

1. What’s your biggest health/fitness goal?
It might take until I’m 70 years old, but I want to qualify for Boston. Every time I run a half marathon I have this thought, “I’ll never be able to do more than 13.1.” But I had that same thought in a couple of my first 5K’s. That thought fuels me to channel my innate rebellion instincts to defeat that thought. My first step on the way is to complete my first 26.2 this fall, with no time goal. I think the harder Marine Corps is, the more I will want to defeat it and come back and do another 26.2 even better. I know that’s the kind of stubborn, hotheaded kid I can be. I want to be able to run a strong marathon, and I want to join the ranks of Boston qualifiers. 

bostonstrong500

2. Why did you start blogging?
It’s pretty narcissistic really. I am a compulsive sharer. When I started running I already had a blog, and when I started running I was in a really angry and sad place in my life. Running helped change that quite a lot, and more and more I wanted to talk about running instead of the things that made me mad. Running made me happy and more and more that’s what I wanted to talk about – what made me happy. Blogging gave me a place to write it all out with the idea that someone who was interested had the agency to click and read if they wanted to, but that I wasn’t bugging anyone who didn’t want to hear it because they didn’t have to read. I just simply wanted to share with anyone who might be interested.

3. What is the biggest obstacle or accomplishment you’ve overcome?
Are we talking health/fitness still or like, life in general? Running was born out of probably the biggest obstacle I’ve overcome, which was having to say goodbye to my dog when I put him down. It’s been a year and a half and I still struggle with feelings of guilt and what if. Logically I know it was the “right” thing to do but in my heart it hurts so much to think about. I started running because my apartment was so lonely without him; running gave me an excuse to get out and be alone with my thoughts instead of crying so loud it disturbed my roommate. I have never been athletic; I think being able to run for 30-40 minutes without stopping to walk, more than any race or speed accomplishment, is my greatest fitness accomplishment. All of that came from deciding to step up from piddling around for a mile on the treadmill to training for a 5K as a way to deal with my emotions over the loss of my dog. The rest has been history.

jessie
Enter Messy Jessie

4. Do you own any pets? Puppies or kitties (or other)?
Timely segue. Currently I’m trying to save money while I’m in grad school by living with my parents for at least a few more months. They have two rascally Bonnie & Clyde type cats, ages 4-5ish. We adopted them each when they were kittens, but they’re not litter mates. When my dog died I brought home two foster cats, one of whom I realized I was going to foster-fail. I had fostered several pets before through my local animal shelter but Jessie burrowed a very permanent spot in my heart so I adopted her as my own. She’s a 2-year-old babydoll whose sole goal in life is to be snuggled as much as possible. So at the moment I’m a crazy cat lady. I also have a sassy little gerbil named Tina Fey who loves to torment my cat by dancing around at the glass knowing they can’t eat her through it. 

5. Name one thing/item that you could not go a day without.
Music. If I ever go deaf you’ll find me drumming rhythms on my chest to feel the vibrations in my body.

6. What is a favorite quote/motto that you live by?
Capture

I think rock bottom can be a very exciting place to be if you let it be. When you have nothing to lose you don’t lose anything by getting to be exactly who you are, no put-ons or affectations. When I face a scary thing in life my gut reaction is always to rebel, to fight it, to get defensive. This quotes serves as great reminders and non-cliche way of saying that so often what we think is a closed door is an open window. Hayley Williams is also my spirit guide so I trust what she says. 😉

7. What was the last book you read and would recommend to others?
I’m about three-quarters of the way through Frans de Waal’s The Age of Empathy and I would highly recommend it to anyone who’s interested in behavioral science, learning in general, or even just likes interesting animal anecdotes. de Waal works with primates and through this book explores the mammalian uniqueness of the ability to empathize, and all the different levels empathy occurs on. As someone with a rampant tendency for emotional contagion (if you’re crying, I’m crying), it’s been very eye-opening. Be prepared to want to tell everyone you know what you just read about, though, especially if you love animals. And be prepared to want to join the Bonobo Conservation Initiative.

8. What is your most favourite blog post that you’ve written? (Provide the link so we can check it out!)
Real talk about my struggles with body image. What I’ve lost in weight since beginning running, I’ve gained twice that in so many other things. I was really happy that talking about how running gave me so much more than a lower number on a scale resonated with so many people who reached out and told me that post struck a chord with them. (The only downside was a creepy ex boyfriend who emotionally abused me about my weight gain after we broke up because I wouldn’t sleep with him thought that somehow seeing that post was an excellent opportunity to try and get back in touch by lightly saying he was happy for me but by the way I always play the victim. FUCK. OFF.)

9. What is your favorite race you’ve run so far?richmondI think “race” is different than “race weekend.” Princess Half weekend was definitely my favorite race weekend, but my first half marathon, at Richmond, was easily the happiest I’ve been throughout a race from start line to finish line. The thrill of accomplishment was such a high for every step of 13.1 miles. 

10. What is a dream race on your bucket list?
I can only pick one?! AUGH. Ok, there are MANY. But for the purposes of picking one, I’m going to pick just one at random and say the San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon. It being Rock ‘n’ Roll’s first event, as well as all the great things I’ve heard about, I definitely have my eye on it whenever I may have the luxury of heading out to California in June. 

Thanks again to Chaitali and Laura! Make sure to check out their blogs.

So that’s that! In the coming days I’ll have announcements concerning Run This Year‘s latest giveaway, my new role as a Girls Gone Sporty ambassador, race recaps for the (count it) THREE races I’m doing this coming weekend, as well as an adjustment of goals for 2014 in general and a look ahead at May and getting back on track after injury.

Happy April 30!

10250078_10100313109927173_9005463465078745016_n

 

