So I’m feeling a little tricky about the Annapolis 10-Miler I have this weekend. On the one hand, it’s going to be an excellent kick in the rump to remind myself how important hill training is for Marine Corps Marathon. It’ll be good practice for my legs to run the hills. It matches my planned distance exactly so I am not going over or under to have to make up any mileage. On the other hand, it is a race, and a tough one, and I have Disneyland Dumbo Double Dare 19.3 mile weekend next weekend. I worry that I am going to run my legs into the ground, but that’s what marathon training is, right? Running way more than you normally run to be ready for high mileage race day, right?

…Right?

A10Profile2003

That is the elevation profile. Yes, all the tallest inclines are in the LAST HALF of the course. But then again, what goes up, must come down, and I’m liking that last mile downhill and that nice steep drop at about mile 8.5.

It is hard to resist the urge to try to PR. It will be my first big race setting in over a month, and I have PR’d my last two races – the 5K and the 10K. The last time I hit my 10 mile PR was back in March, also on a very hilly course. My last few long runs have been at a decent training run pace, albeit on flat surfaces. But there is always race day adrenaline to account for making me move faster.  But then I am tempted to just use it as a training run for Disney and MCM. But then again I am so uber-competitive with myself and I want to break 1:45 in the 10 miler so bad.

So of course, I have to make some A, B, and C goals.

A: Run a sub-1:45 10-miler. Reward and recover properly with lots of compression, foam-rolling, and chocolate milk to be ready for Disney the following weekend.

(I know, I know. Not the smart move.)

tumblr_inline_mmcnrrIa3M1qz4rgp

B: Run a sub-1:50 10-miler.

C. Absolutely, whether it’s a 1:51 finish or a 2:05 finish, finish feeling strong, still standing, more confident for MCM.

D. Look fly for pictures and finish to get my kick-ass A10 jacket.

Cross the finish line like...
Cross the finish line like…

Anybody else running the A10 this weekend? Where my RWB Eagles at?!

