Well, when my favorite be-sparkle-skirted fellow runner Carlee announced that she’s starting a new Thursday link-up with Sharp Endurance and Running with SD Mom, it was just enough to get me to think about my own topic for their theme, “Triumph Thursday.” I’m a strong believer in taking a moment, no matter what kind of mess is going on, to practice perspective and thank yourself for what you ARE doing well lately, even if it’s just “I paid my rent on time!”

11209674_10153354363908854_1039146686253572917_nI’ve blogged a few times about getting my momentum going again after the injury, the move, the new job, so I’m happy to say that my TRIUMPH is:

Creating a training plan for Rock ‘n’ Roll Chicago Half Marathon and STICKING TO IT!

One of my biggest issues in my new place is being a little too cozy when I come home from work. I have this amazing comfy couch with an amazingly soft fleece blanket and a very snuggly cat, and my job keeps me pretty busy during the day. So when I come home, it’s hard to get up the momentum to go back out again and hit the gym or the trail.

Furthermore, I still haven’t gotten up the oomph to get up early and join the local Striders group so I have no one expecting me at any particular workout, so it’s easy to just skip it.

But enough of the excuses! This week, I’ve been very dedicated.

Even when it was too late and the last yoga class of the day in town had happened, I didn’t skimp out on my “stretch and strength” day. I Pinterest’d a lower ab workout routine, set my timer for 30 minutes, and hit the plank walks.

Screen shot 2015-05-07 at 7.47.18 AMAnd when I came home from work sleepy on Tuesday, I made a deal with myself. I could take a nap, but I had to take advantage of my 24-hour gym and when I woke up from my nap I had to go get my three miles in that my plan called for. And I did.

This isn’t to say I’m celebrating being a slave to my training plan – because I’m not a slave to my training plan. The biggest mistake I made in training for the Marine Corps Marathon was being too obsessed with my plan and not listening to my body enough. Like I said, sometimes my plan might call for a 2-a-day workout and I’ll just do one so I won’t exhaust myself. If something feels tweaky after a long run, I’ll skip my next short run for some PT or just a little extra rest so I don’t strain whatever is talking to me.

But for now, I’m feeling triumphant about setting a new goal and going after it. I have a target and a plan, after several months of feeling pretty directionless and unmotivated every time I thought about running.

What’s your latest triumph, in life or in running? 

(Join me on Facebook here!)

